Hanging out my washing on our line the other night.. yes night.. we noticed this little fellow was in a tree in our yard the other night.

(photo to come as soon as the camera and cord find my computer)

Yes it’s a fruit bat!

Their native to Australia and flock, literally flock across the sky around dusk in droves.  Seriously if you watch long enough you could probably easily see upwards of 300 bats flying across the sky.  This guy’s pretty small but on average they’re about 2 feet across.  Here’s a link to a few other photos of them. http://www.google.com.au/images?hl=en&q=fruit+bats&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=univ&ei=ivZXTOKSFpC6sQOdsPGYCg&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&ct=title&resnum=1&ved=0CDMQsAQwAA&biw=1251&bih=684

Their faces are actually quite cute.. kind of like bears, granted some of those photos are sort of horrifying.

Nonetheless the point is that I am still absurdly amazed at the things that exist (wildlife-wise) within 5k’s of the city!

Had another native experience today pulling my mail out of my mailbox and when going to open my one letter turning it over to find a lizard hanging onto the back.  I’d have taken a photo but I freaked out instead.

