Tags

, , , , ,


I have an aversion to clear glasses.  For beverages I mean; hot ones only that is.

It’s always been this way, it’s just that sort of slimy residue on the sides of the cup as you drink down the liquid that in opaque cups you can’t see that turns me off them.  Or maybe it’s that I am sure that they make my drink seem colder.  (A lesson no doubt reinforced by the teachings about heat transfer by my father…. I did win a Butterfinger in 6th grade for keeping an ice-cube from melting the longest – Thanks dad!)

And here’s the trouble: During the holidays there are all these magazine perfect hot drink concoctions which look fabulous and amazing in their clear glasses with their perfectly coiffed whip cream and holiday sprinkles glistening.

Like this! (btw, click the photo for a link to a seriously yum hot chocolate recipe)

Like this! (btw, click the photo for a link to a seriously yum hot chocolate recipe)

I want these, I want to make them, I want to buy them, I want to serve them at an aesthetically perfect Christmas party… BUT…. I just can’t get over the glasses.  As soon as they would be here in real life, they would annoy me.

Yes I know, a tiny, crazy, odd little quirky weird thing… Sort of like THIS…. But well, everyone’s got some oddities… It builds character.  And just think, if I make them in my pretty opaque cups instead and then it’ll be like a little surprise inside when you get past the cream! Even better than the glass glasses!   Voila!

Now if I could only rid the world of brown (and maybe red) plastic cups things would be perfect.

